You are here: Home >> Education >>Arts & Literature >>Awards >>Country Awards >>India >>BHARAT RATNA AWARD >>
The Indian Prestigious BHARAT RATNA AWARD

Bharat Ratna:  Bharat Ratna is India's highest award for non-military person's, awarded to the persons of extraord inary national service, includes art, literature and for some certain outstanding performBharat Ratna Awardance along with  acknowledgement of public services.   Bharat Ratna doesnt carry any unique title and other benefits of any preferential treatment for Indian order. By the side with this other awards like the Padma Bhushan , Padma Shri , Padma Vibhushan and Bharat Ratna  award was well-known by the first Indian President , Rajendra Prasad, on 2nd January 1954 . Bharat Ratna has been suspended from 13-July-1977 to 26 January 1980.  41 persons have been awarded.  Two non Indian citizens also included. Major number of awards to Tamilnadu and Uttar Pradesh in the States list. 




Former Indian President Dr Rajendra Prasad, started on 2nd January 1954 , there is no provision   to award after death  (Mahatma Gandhi has not been given this award), subsequently, in  1955Front Side January amended to give the award..  Twelve awards has been awarded after death. In 1992 Subhash Chandra Bose was awarded after his death and  later it has  been  inhibited due to a legal problem. The Bharta Ratna Citation, the certificate conferred to Late M. G. Ramachandran . General assumption is there ,Bharat Ratna awards should be awarded to  Indian citizens.  A non Indian citizen Mother Teresa (Agnes Gonxha Bojaxhiu) 1980 has been awarded; and in 1987 Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan was awarded and in 1990 Nelson Mandela has been awarded.


Living Recipients of Bharta Chakra Award




1. A.P.J Abdul Kalam (1997)

2. Ravi Shankar (1999)

3. Amartya Sen (1999)

4. Lata Mangeshkar (2001)

5. Bhimsen Joshi (2008)




Nelson Mandela (1990)




Award to Chandra Bose


The Indian independence rebel Subhas Chandra Bose, was awarded after his death in 1992. It has been later get back due to court direction , and this is first case withdrawn in due to Court order , since the  proof was  not able to submitted by the Committee of award to the Court .



Award to Abul Kalam Azad

Mr.  Abul Kalam Azad , freedom warrior and the first Education Minister of India,  he refused  it when the award named  to him by  saying that members of selection committee should be excluded from the list.  Later the award was given to him after his death in 1992.


 Stipulation of the award  was a globular gold medal, Size of the award , 35 mm in diameter, Front side with the symbol of sun and  "Bharat Ratna" This legendary word is in Hindi. In the back side our nations symbol and slogan was displayed.


  R.Subramanian On 22/12/2008                                                                         Write Comment

Home  |  Contact Us  |  Add to FavoriteAuthor LoginLink Exchange |Resources Links   |  Site Map

Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy | User published content is licensed under a Creative Commons License.  

Copyright 2007-2008.  BestToFind.Com                                                                                                

Sign up for Free Email Newsletter!
   Receive updates, New & Latest Articles


 Write Your Feedback